top of page
  • mrcowardmaths

Bar Modelling for the mean

Updated: Mar 7, 2021

I have previously used Don Stewards great towers resource, and this is a brilliant representation to understand the mean. I would then move from this to the abstract. However, I have now added a step, bar modeling. I found it to be particularly powerful, and feel it highlights the continuousness of number. It can also be extended for more complex problems as I shall discuss below.


There is a great applet on Boss Maths, pictured below, which I highly recommend. I have used this model as a basis for my representations.

I would like you to try and model the following problems before having a look at my models.


a) The mean of 5 numbers is 8. The numbers are 10, 3, x, 10, 8.

Find the value of x.


b) The mean age of 4 boys is 12. Another boy joins, age 7.

What is the mean age of the 5 boys?


c) The mean of 4 numbers is 6. Another number is added.

The mean is now 7. What number was added?


d) The mean age of 3 boys is 10. The mean age of 6 girls is 15.

What is the mean age of all the boys and girls?


e) 4 adults and 6 children have a mean age of 21.8

The adults have a mean age of 35. What is the mean age of the children?


f) Team A consists of 13 players with a mean age of 26. Team B has 11 players with a mean of 28. A player leaves Team A to join Team B.

The new mean of Team A is 27. What is the new mean of Team B?


The last one is probably a bit impractical to do by hand and highlights the need for an extra strategy. I would recommend using written methods alongside and using the models and a way to understand the process. Pupils could create their own models for a few problems, compare them, or even match them to written methods.


Haven got in touch with Sudeep he has now updated his applet to include these representations, for which I am incredibly grateful, his site is brilliant, please check it out.


I have personally have found these to be really successful, hopefully, they are of some use to you too. Any feedback is much appreciated.



491 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page